Estiquote research · September 2026

Your postcode can nearly triple the cost of approving an extension

Council building control for the same 10 to 40 m² single-storey extension costs from £587 (Bridgend) to £1,584 (Islington) on current schedules, including VAT: a 2.7-fold difference. The typical council charges £840. London's median is £1,113, about 1.5 times the North's £737.

What we found

  • 91 councils in England and Wales publish a full plans charge for a 10 to 40 m² extension. The typical (median) council charges £840, and the middle half charge between £736 and £1,008.
  • Dearest: Camden (£1,876, though its band runs to 60 m²), then Islington (£1,584) and Southwark (£1,473).
  • Cheapest current schedules: Bridgend (£587), then Conwy (£648) and Fylde (£660). Newport (£485) and Vale of Glamorgan (£540) are lower but date from 2014 and 2023; Hull (£577) does not say whether VAT is included.
  • Building notice can cost more: at 34 of the 79 councils that publish both, the building notice route costs more than full plans.
  • Scotland and Northern Ireland use national fee scales. In Northern Ireland a 20 to 40 m² extension costs £243; in Scotland fees follow the value of the work (£950 for a £50,000 job).

Median fee by region

Median full plans charge for a 10 to 40 m² single-storey extension, including VAT
RegionMedianCouncils
London£1,11310
South East£99013
East of England£9228
South West£89611
North East£8108
East Midlands£7939
West Midlands£7908
North West£71610
Yorkshire and the Humber£7016
Wales£6668

Every council we checked

Select a column heading to sort. Each council links to its local cost page, and "schedule" links to the fee schedule we used.

Full plans charges including VAT; bands differ slightly between councils
CouncilRegionExtension 10 to 40 m²Loft up to 40 m²Notes
CamdenLondon£1,876£1,406band runs to 60 m²; schedule
IslingtonLondon£1,584£1,782schedule
SouthwarkLondon£1,473£1,473schedule
RedbridgeLondon£1,320£1,320schedule
WaverleySouth East£1,280£1,385schedule
RunnymedeSouth East£1,182£1,182schedule
CornwallSouth West£1,140£1,140schedule
OxfordSouth East£1,125£1,190schedule
HillingdonLondon£1,122£1,109schedule
WandsworthLondon£1,104£1,084schedule
South HamsSouth West£1,095£795older or undated schedule; schedule
TeignbridgeSouth West£1,095£795older or undated schedule; schedule
West DevonSouth West£1,095£795older or undated schedule; schedule
Richmond upon ThamesLondon£1,069£1,050schedule
WatfordEast of England£1,065£752schedule
St AlbansEast of England£1,065£752schedule
MonmouthshireWales£1,056£1,056schedule
West BerkshireSouth East£1,055£1,055schedule
WokinghamSouth East£1,055£1,055schedule
StockportNorth West£1,050£1,260schedule
Stoke-on-TrentWest Midlands£1,026£1,026older or undated schedule; schedule
MaidstoneSouth East£1,023£1,064older or undated schedule; schedule
BromleyLondon£1,008£1,224schedule
HarrowLondon£994£927schedule
Windsor and MaidenheadSouth East£990£1,092schedule
PlymouthSouth West£973£882older or undated schedule; schedule
South TynesideNorth East£970£1,005schedule
GatesheadNorth East£965£1,028schedule
HartSouth East£960£990schedule
RushmoorSouth East£960£990schedule
HerefordshireWest Midlands£960£960schedule
BirminghamWest Midlands£957£752schedule
MaldonEast of England£947£947schedule
Folkestone and HytheSouth East£942£942schedule
ColchesterEast of England£925£1,075VAT not stated; schedule
North NorfolkEast of England£919£1,056schedule
Newcastle upon TyneNorth East£918£1,050schedule
BedfordEast of England£916£1,011schedule
Mid DevonSouth West£896£896schedule
North DevonSouth West£896£896schedule
CeredigionWales£886£886schedule
ErewashEast Midlands£882£857VAT not stated; schedule
HaveringLondon£859–schedule
HorshamSouth East£858£858schedule
CrawleySouth East£858£858schedule
Milton KeynesSouth East£840£1,254schedule
SunderlandNorth East£840£960schedule
SolihullWest Midlands£830£755schedule
BradfordYorkshire and the Humber£824£946schedule
LiverpoolNorth West£822£930older or undated schedule; schedule
ExeterSouth West£800£800older or undated schedule; schedule
BlabyEast Midlands£793£947schedule
HarboroughEast Midlands£793£947schedule
Hinckley and BosworthEast Midlands£793£947schedule
MeltonEast Midlands£793£947schedule
Oadby and WigstonEast Midlands£793£947schedule
RutlandEast Midlands£793£947schedule
UttlesfordEast of England£786£996schedule
BassetlawEast Midlands£786£786schedule
NorthumberlandNorth East£780–schedule
PembrokeshireWales£780£780schedule
NottinghamEast Midlands£762£730schedule
PendleNorth West£756£700schedule
WiltshireSouth West£755£755schedule
CoventryWest Midlands£750£750schedule
LeedsYorkshire and the Humber£750£800older or undated schedule; schedule
DurhamNorth East£743£750schedule
KirkleesYorkshire and the Humber£737£783VAT not stated; older or undated schedule; schedule
Cheshire West and ChesterNorth West£736£752schedule
BristolSouth West£735£735schedule
Ribble ValleyNorth West£718£699schedule
WolverhamptonWest Midlands£714£648schedule
WyreNorth West£714£618schedule
BuryNorth West£713£508older or undated schedule; schedule
DarlingtonNorth East£710£800older or undated schedule; schedule
SandwellWest Midlands£704£657schedule
Stockton-on-TeesNorth East£697£937VAT not stated; older or undated schedule; schedule
Bath and North East SomersetSouth West£696£660older or undated schedule; schedule
GwyneddWales£684£684schedule
WalsallWest Midlands£672£636VAT not stated; schedule
PeterboroughEast of England£666£672older or undated schedule; schedule
BarnsleyYorkshire and the Humber£665£655schedule
OldhamNorth West£665£712schedule
SheffieldYorkshire and the Humber£661£661schedule
FyldeNorth West£660£660schedule
BlackpoolNorth West£654£673schedule
ConwyWales£648£648schedule
BridgendWales£587£690schedule
HullYorkshire and the Humber£577£588VAT not stated; schedule
Vale of GlamorganWales£540£630older or undated schedule; schedule
NewportWales£485£560older or undated schedule; schedule

Method and caveats

We read each council's published building control charges in September 2026 and recorded the full plans charge (plan plus inspection) for a single-storey extension of 10 to 40 m², including VAT. Where a schedule showed prices without VAT we added 20%. Bands differ (some councils use up to 30 m² or 20 to 60 m²), 16 schedules carry no date and a few are older than 2025. Private approved inspectors set their own prices. Councils that only quote on request are not included.

Download the full dataset (CSV). Free to reuse with credit to Estiquote (CC BY 4.0).